Enterprise Mailing Solutions

Folder Auto-Clean

Folder Auto-Clean
Folder Auto-Clean is a method for limiting how much of your account disk space is used by the Junk E-Mail, Sent Items, and Deleted Items folders. By placing limits on the size of these folders, you can help ensure that your account does not fill up unnecessarily. Messages are deleted from the folders in the order that they were received so that older messages get deleted first.

To check your possible options, click the Settings button on the main toolbar, then select Folder Auto-Clean from the Filtering folders tree view.

Note: Depending on the policies your administrator has established, you may or may not be able to change the settings on this page.

Note: If auto-clean is active on a folder, messages will get deleted from it eventually, so do not keep messages in that folder if you want to keep them.

Options
Use default auto-clean settings Choosing this option will let you adopt the policy of your email host or domain administrator. If the administrator changes the policy, yours will automatically change with it. You can see the current policy on the Folders tab when this option is active.

Override auto-clean settings for this account Choose this option to override the settings set by your administrator. Any changes you make will not be affected if the administrator changes their policy, unless they disable user overrides.

Inbox auto-clean Users can use the auto-clean feature, if permitted by the System Administrator.

Folder Settings
If you are using the default auto-clean settings set up by your administrator, they will appear on this tab. In cases where you are able to override the settings, you have the option of auto-cleaning folders based upon size or date.

These options will be visible if size is chosen:

* Folder size BEFORE auto-clean Once the folder reaches this size (in megabytes), the auto-clean process is started, and older messages (messages that were received the longest time ago) are cleaned.
* Folder size AFTER auto-clean This is the goal size for the auto-clean process. It will try to delete older messages until the folder gets to this size. This number should always be lower than the "before" number.
* Enable auto-clean for this folder If this box is checked, then auto-clean will be active for the specified folder.

These options will be visible if date is chosen:

* Mail Age Enter the maximum number of days mail will stay in the current folder. Once a message reaches that age, it will be deleted.
* Enable auto-clean for this folder If this box is checked, then auto-clean will be active for the specified folder.